Present proof of your ssn if eligible. There are special regulations and required documents for an ab 60 license.
To apply for a real id card you must do the following.
How to get a license in california at 16. California issues the following dl classes for two wheel vehicle operation. Most drivers now qualify for online renewal. Have your parent s or legal guardian s sign the application.
Most drivers now qualify for online renewal. Provide proof of identity such as your certified birth certificate or passport. California residents who cannot provide proof of legal presence in the u s.
Provide proof of your identity social security number and residency. All applicants under 17 are required to take a dmv approved drivers education course which includes 30 hours of classroom instructions. California has extended noncommercial driver s licenses including ab 60 and limited term expiring during the covid 19 pandemic.
If you re at least 16 years old and have finished drivers ed driver training and logged 50 hours of driving practice you re ready for a california driver license. Fill out the driver license or identification card application dl 44 form and provide your social security number ssn on it. Class m1 you may operate any two wheel motorcycle motor driven cycle or motorized scooter and all vehicles listed under class m2.
Complete a california driver s license or identification dl id card application. Are able to get a ca driver s license under the ab 60 law. California began implementing the law in early 2015.
Make an appointment at your local california dmv office then visit during your appointment time. Provide 2 california residency documents. Visit your local ca dmv office.
Complete a driver license or identification card application. To apply for a dmv license as a teen you must. Pay the 37 driver s license fee.
License holders 69 and younger beginning march 1 2020. Class m2 you may operate any motorized bicycle moped. When parents or guardians sign for a minor to get a dl they are stating that they will accept financial responsibility insurance for that minor.
The learners permit at the age of 15 teens in california can apply for a learners permit also called a provisional instruction permit. California has provided extensions or expanded online renewal eligibility for noncommercial driver s licenses including ab 60 and limited term expiring during the covid 19 pandemic. License holders 69 and younger beginning march 1 2020.
The permit and dl requirements in this handbook pertain to two wheel vehicles and are referenced in cvc 12804 9. You must also hold a learner permit for at least six months.